Review – Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm

Hi everyone,

I’ve been using Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm for about a year now and I have to say that this lip balm is the best I’ve ever used.

First of all, I’ve never really been a fan of lip gloss because I find it way too sticky and having to reapply is just too much work for me! Also, my lips on on the thin side and I’ve never been able to pull off wearing lipstick, either. I would love to be able to rock some hot pink lips or a sexy red pout, but I just don’t think I can do it! So I stick to a more natural look for my lips.

Most lip balms actually have ingredients that will dry out your lips faster, which some people say is a company’s way of getting you to buy more of their products. The key is to stay away from ingredients such as camphor, or anything with alcohol (usually ending in “ol”) such as phenol and menthol.

If you visit the Burt’s Bees website, you get a sense of how socially / environmentally responsible they are, which is nice really to see, not to mention rare these days. They have a whole section on their commitment which I found really interesting!

Burt’s Bees Lip Balm
I personally love this lip balm because it’s natural. The company strives for 100% natural products, and although not ALL of them are natural, most of them are. This balm contains peppermint oil, which gives your lips a nice tingle. It’s not sticky like some other balms and it makes your lips feel smooth. Plus, I just love that it’s in a tin. I didn’t pay that much for it, either. I think they’re around $5 and they last a long time. I lost my first one and immediately had to buy a second! I don’t use it daily, which I don’t really recommend, but I definitely use it more in the fall/winter.

Tip: If you feel like you need to use lip balm daily because of dry, flaky lips, you might be dehydrated or using a balm with an alcohol ingredient. Try drinking at least 6 glasses of water a day and switching to either a natural lip balm, or petroleum jelly.

Natural is the way to go!

Summary
Product name:
Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm Tin
Price paid: $5
Pros: natural, inexpensive, effective
Cons: there are none in my opinion!
Overall review: Love this product. A must!

Love,

C.

 

Do you know what’s in your lip balm?

4 thoughts on “Review – Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm

Leave a Reply

