We’re Working Out!

Hi everyone!

Monday began a new month and I thought it would be the perfect timing to get back into my workout routine. For the past 2 years, I have been exercising regularly, but as a new semester begun, I saw my good habits fade away – and fast. I know that my life will ALWAYS be busy and I will always have an excuse, but I believe that being healthy is a big part of being happy. It’s important to make that time and the longer you maintain certain habits, the easier they will become – good OR bad!

Last week, my boyfriend stumbled upon a workout plan from Men’s Health so we decided it was time to get back into our gym routine.

Our Goal – Long-Term
Our goal is ultimately to be healthy. We plan on working out 4-5 times per week and to keep it up for as long as possible.

Our Goal – Short-Term
For me, a trip down south is usually a good motivation. We’re planning to go to the Dominican Republic in February 2013, so I’m aiming to look and feel good about myself for that point. I’m looking to lose about a few pounds and tone my body.

For my boyfriend, I think he is also using the trip as his motivation. He is mostly looking to build his muscle mass and increase his strength and endurance.

First Week
Yesterday we woke up at 5.45am and headed off to the gym, then off to work. This morning, we did it again. I am so proud of us! Tomorrow we decided would be our “rest day” and we start again Thursday. I love the idea of the rest day in the middle of the week because it helps you look forward to it and motivates you to keep going.

The Perks of Morning Workouts
I am such a fan of morning workouts. There are so many benefits to it, too. While I know that it’s not for everyone, I definitely recommend it for those who can. For my boyfriend and I, it fits in with our busy schedules. We both work Monday to Friday, and I take evening classes, so it’s difficult for us to find that spare time. Often, I’ll be really exhausted after work and want nothing more than to go snuggle up in my bed. Working out in the morning gives me that alternative while also making me feel better about myself, and more positive in general. I feel more awake and productive at work, plus it speeds up my metabolism to burn extra calories throughout the day. That, combined with healthier eating habits (which I’ll discuss in a separate post) make for a great health boost!

I love working out. I always feel like I haven’t worked out hard enough unless I’m sore the next day.

What are some of your workout routines? We’d love to know!

Love,

C.

Leave a Reply

